Theakston Cask Lightfoot is now Gluten Free!
Barley and wheat are still used when brewing Lightfoot and the beer is brewed in exactly the same way. The only difference is we now add a enzyme called Brewer Clarex at the start of fermentation which breaks down the gluten molecules. The enzyme only attacks the gluten molecules and has no effect on the flavour or the quality of the beer. Using the correct process of addition and addition rate of the enzyme reduces levels of gluten to below 20ppm (part per million) so it complies with the law on gluten free labelling.
Each batch of Lightfoot is tested before racking, and each test we have carried out on Theakston Lightfoot has registered under 10ppm, so we can confidently label Lightfoot as ‘Gluten Free’.